Books Inventory

Following a friend’s footsteps (shoutout to Kat!), I have decided to document the books I’ve read this year. I tend to forget the books I read – particularly if not very memorable. 

My main aim this year is to read one book a month. I have a feeling I read less than 10 books last year, so this is a realistic/reasonable goal for me. So I’m happy to say that I have read this year alone!

My books this year:

(read in chronological order) 

1. Fast times in Palestine by Pamela Olsen


Love, love, love this book! I have never really understood the history of Palestine and Jerusalem. So this was a good and interesting way of explaining the history and politics. It’s a true story of an American bartender who uprooted herself and landed a job as journalist in Ramallah. 

Definite recommendation. ✨✨✨✨✨

2. The Life Changing Magic of Tidying by Marie Kondo

Sure I’ve written about this before. The title doesnt lie. Life changing for me! And my well- folded scarves and shirts remain well-folded and neatly arranged.

✨✨✨✨✨

3. Another book (cos I love her hippy words so much) by Marie Kondo titled ‘Spark Joy’

Actually enjoyed the former book more.

✨✨✨✨

4. The Reluctant Fundamentalist


Narrated so cleverly, I cant even begin to review this book just yet. Recommend this. Expected it to be heavy but actually an easy read and read it in 3-4 days. And I was disappointed when I finished!

✨✨✨✨✨

5. The Whole-Brain Child

I read this ages ago and stopped because I couldnt take in all the info. I probably have only taken 2-3 points away from it but this is an informative book on how kids brain works. How to approach when they’re having tantrums. How to communicate with them esp on distressing topics. How to get them to open up.

✨✨✨ (3 stars for being too jampacked info)

✨✨✨✨(but another star for learning new info and good pictures)

6. A Year of Living Danishly


This was an alright read, some humorous topics, some bit dragged out. It does make me want to live in Denmark and apply Hygge lifestyle! I would say I agree with the danish way of living!

✨✨✨✨ 

7. Not If I See You First


Someone once told me to read teenager-targeted books when your reading mojo is down as the books tend to be easier reads. This was an easy read and made me smile inside with the innocence of high school friendships/relationships. Also, it made me think of how blind people do sports! (Story about a blind girl runner navigating through high school and discovering athletics)

✨✨✨✨

8. Romance book

Cant remember the title. Neednt bother. Too predictable and cliche. I dont recommend it.

✨✨

9. Confessions of a Domestic Failure


Now I love this author! I love following her on facebook. Perhaps I was disappointed because I thought it was a non-fictional book (ie personal book about her). The story is predictable and the stories relating to main character was too cringe-y. Few hilarious spots in the book but in general, I wanted to smack the main character. Too exaggerated I feel.

✨✨

10. Yasmin Mogahed’s “Reclaim Your Heart”

Broken down into short topics, so you can dip in and out of the book. Lots of nice quotes and interesting perspectives. She writes just like how she speaks! (attended two of her talks previously)

✨✨✨✨

11. All the Light We Cannot See


Set in World War 2. Main character is blind. Story of how her life and another boy’s life was in WW and how their lives intersected at some point. I would not normally choose this book as thought it was bit heavy. It turned out to be a good read with beautiful, descriptive language. Didnt want the book to end! 

✨✨✨✨✨

12. Drop the Ball


The contents all made sense. I was annoyed in large parts of the book. I then realise that it was because I have followed the points already and wondering why the author took awhile to ‘drop the ball’. 

The book is about how women in general takes it upon themselves to do EVERYTHING. Juggle career, household and kids. She is basically saying how we have to drop the ball and (1) delegate to others esp partner and (2) to let go of high expectations on everything and pick your battles. I was like ‘uhhhh yeah’ –  my husband pretty much is 50/50 – maybe even more! – on household stuff whilst I will generally take care of kids stuff. We both tag team on a daily basis.

✨✨✨

13. Harmless Like You

Cant be bothered to give a review on this one. Depressing. 

14. All The Children

Wrote about this recently. Surprising good read. I’m not a ‘thriller/drama’ person and certainly not into the apocalypse kind but the story was plausible, gripping and un-put-down-able. Also taken from a different perspective of how mothers/maternal instincts kick in during survival mode.

✨✨✨✨

15. The Handmaid’s Tale


Wow, this is such a different story. Also didnt realise how old this book is already! Will write on another time when I can digest it all. I finished reading this in less than 24 hrs. It was difficult to put down and also, it wasnt that long!

✨✨✨✨

16. Good Mother Myth (half read)

I cant be bothered to finish this. But I never like not finishing my books. So maybe I’ll pick this up again on a later date. 

So those are my books this year. I’ve read 15 books! Almost twice the rate I expected myself to. A lot of 4 and 5 stars from me. Some life changing! I’m looking for more heart warming books though. And light hearted ones. 

Hopefully I’ll be able to read more in the later part of this year! 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

