Stop and reflect

Today, towards the end of my night shift with nothing much left to do, I opened my facebook and read a post on a dear junior from leics uni who has passed away in a car accident.

She was a lovely girl, friendly… she was easy to reach to. Some people who likes to ‘berdakwah’ – sometimes you feel intimidated, sometimes terasa like you cant be yourself. But she never pushed to intimidate/patronise and was always smiling. That’s how I remember her – always smiling.

I remember talking to this life coach and she said strive to have the characteristics of how you want people to remember you as. Not like ‘I want to be punctual’ (even though thats a good thing to strive for). More like you want to be remembered as someone patient or kind or inspiring or dedicated. Strive for that.

The news of her death evoked so many emotions and thoughts. Ya Allah, she was such a good person. If you decide to take me away now, what have I done so far? How much have I done? Not enough. Not enough.

The hadith by Muslim: “When a human being dies, all of his deeds are terminated except for three types: an ongoing sadaqah, a knowledge (of Islam) from which others benefit, and a righteous child who makes du’a for him.”

Ya Allah, have I taught my kids enough? Can I make sure my kids, even though still young, grow Allah in their hearts already and make dua for me and their loved ones? 

Ya Allah, so many memories. Nida was a malaysian student in Leics. I felt pretty much like the adopted sister in the msian community back then. They were my hommies. I havent seen them for years. They were such a big part of my life, its sad that I havent seen them for so long. 

We get so busy with everyday life. Stress pasal itu ini, working day in day out. And for what? Nothing is more important than the bigger picture, the reason for our existence.

Alfatihah for Nida Fatin Mat Asis. 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

