Halfway…

Can you believe it, Ramadan is almost halfway over? Sedih jua memikirkan.

I’ve come down with a cold and nasty cough the last few days (thanks Zayan!), and because its *cough cough cough time of the month cough cough cough* things have come to a standstill in a way, if you get what I mean. Trying to make up for it by going through the online Arabic class and listening to ceramah2 (tapi tertidur jua).

Whilst folding laundry today (a way to not fall asleep listening to ceramah), I came across this lecture on translation of Surah Al Hadid via bayyinah tv. Subhanallah. I feel so small thinking about what the lecturer have said. Towards the end of the lecture, he was talking about our relationship with the Qur’an. This is the summary from what I’ve learnt:

1. When Ramadan is mentioned, it firsts mentioned the Qur’an, on the fact that that was when it was first sent down. It didnt mention Ramadan first, it mentioned the Qur’an. See how important the Qur’an is in the scheme of things.

2. Alhamdulillah, kitani belumba2 to finish the Qur’an by the end of the month, to khatam Qur’an. When in Primary six of Ugama school and we khatam the Qur’an, we make a whole big ceremony of it. But what matters the most is how much has the Qur’an changed us. How we have opened our hearts to learn it and let it guide us. Instead we adorn our houses and cars and whatnot with ayat qur’an but do we really know what it means? Do we know what the translation of the surah is? Does it really speak to us?

3. One thing that made me think: the strongest time of relationship between Qur’an and us is during solat. The Qur’an is Allah’s way of talking to us, and when we stand and pray and recite the surahs, are we just saying it for the sake of it? Because it’s the shortest surah and we memorize it the best? (sarcasm untuk diri sendiri) I honestly didnt really think of it like that before. That when I stand for solat, and I recite the surah, I’m actually strengthening my relationship with the Qur’an and that I’m reciting what Allah wants us to know, wants us to see.

I don’t know if I make sense. Pretty sure Brother Nouman Ali Khan says it better than me.

May we all continue in our strive to be closer to Allah and be really ‘the People of Qur’an’,

me.

 

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

