Ramadan Mubarak

Can’t believe it’s the time of the year again – Ramadan!

Every year, I plan in the very beginning to make this ramadan this year to be a good one and always I disappoint myself. Work being a top excuse. Now being a part timer and Zayan sleeping from 8.30 pm onwards, I have NO excuses!

People have been asking me if I’m ready for Ramadan. Which I’m not sure how to answer. Like – do you mean I’ve paid all my puasa ganti? I really don’t get the question. Am I missing something here? Physically ready kah? How DO you get physically ready? Maybe lessen your food intake, so by the time ramadan comes, inda terasa?

Or maybe they mean mentally…which makes more sense to me.

I’ve decided to follow Brother Nouman Ali Khan on his advice on having an ACTION PLAN for Ramadan. Cos yknow, it’s very well to say I’ll finish 30 juz by the end of the month (doesnt happen) or I’ll pray terawih every night (also does not realisitically happen as am on evening/night shifts a lot this month). So this time, I’ve decided to have a REALISTIC action plan.

Which includes on his advice to his audience in some ceramah – to memorise some parts of the Qur’an. and I’ve decided to try to memorise a portion of surah al Kahf. I know that reading surah al Kahf on Fridays are good for us.

 It was narrated that Ibn ‘Umar (may Allaah be pleased with him) said: “The Messenger of Allaah (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him) said: ‘Whoever reads Soorat al-Kahf on the day of Jumu’ah, a light will shine for him from beneath his feet to the clouds of the sky, which will shine for him on the Day of Resurrection, and he will be forgiven (his sins) between the two Fridays.’”

Ok I’ll have to admit, I haven’t really read surah Al kahf before – not top to bottom anyway. So I’ve decided if I do memorise a bit of it, maybe that will encourage me to read it even after Ramadan insyaAllah.

I’m saying this not to be riya or the likes but hopefully to encourage my silent readers out there to make their own realistic and achievable action plan this Ramadan, insyaAllah.

I have attempted to memorise the first ayat tadi and am trying not to give up! Baru the first ayat! My brain is not good as dulu in memorising, uhuks. So I have to remember this ayat in the Qur’an —->

Chapter (54) sūrat l-qamar (The Moon)

And We have certainly made the Qur’an easy for remembrance, so is there any who will remember?

Allah promised that he has made it easy for us to remember, so insyaAllah….. we can do this!

Over and out, me

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

