Children should get bored

20130401-023139.jpg

Havent seen this lil man all day as have been working. We went to 360 play again (first visit requires its own post!) and brought him to this. He was kinda bangang on it until he saw me.

Feels awesome to have such adoration and iskiness emulating from someone as soon as he sees me. Plus he claps like a no 1 adoring fan whenever I finish singing any song however off key I am (which is most of the time).

Anyway, a few things:

1. Think I can be a strict mummy sometimes, ok a lot of times. Feel like I’m always telling him off for something like when he takes out light bulbs stored in the kitchen drawer. Or when he throws his food down the table (always). Or when he bites me.

So, not unreasonable scoldings me thinks. But I do do the firm stern voice and fixed stare. In fact I can pretty much stare at him and he knows he’s done wrong and sits quietly (for like ten seconds).

I make myself feel better by thinking that he cant be too affected cos he still hugs me after and is still happy to see me.

2. We are taking an active decision not to give Zayan the ipad or iphone to play game, or any app game. Not even a learning educational one. We’re gonna delay him playing games for as long as we can. Social pariah tah Zayan ni!

The only time he uses them gadgets is to watch videos, which he probably watches for half an hour in a day, if any. And I guess I’m ok with it cos we dont switch on any cartoons on TV for him (cos we dominate it and I have lil patience for cartoons here).

I just dont want him to be hooked onto a screen.

An interesting read:

Children should be allowed to get bored  MAR 25 2013

So says education researcher Teresa Belton:

The academic, who has previously studied the impact of television and videos on children’s writing, said: “When children have nothing to do now, they immediately switch on the TV, the computer, the phone or some kind of screen. The time they spend on these things has increased.

“But children need to have stand-and-stare time, time imagining and pursuing their own thinking processes or assimilating their experiences through play or just observing the world around them.”

It is this sort of thing that stimulates the imagination, she said, while the screen “tends to short circuit that process and the development of creative capacity”.

I mean, I do find myself switching on a youtube video if Zayan gets bored and I’ve got things to do (or I’m too tired/sleepy to layan). Who hasnt resorted to this? But I guess we just gotta remember that too much of something is never a good thing.

Anyway, Zayan does get bored as there’s only limited space for him in the apartment and we dont have a garden and its cold. And most days if he’s not with childminder, its just me and him (if M is working). And when I am busy doing something, his fave spot is the balcony windows, where he looks out or sits on the box near there and babbles to himself. I wonder what he’s thinking and talking about. Would love to tap into that brain of his and see what he thinks of the outside world from his view down there!

20130401-024956.jpg

Ok gotta sleep.

zzzzz.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

