Escapism by books

I was trying to find good books out there for a friend’s kids aged between 2 to 6 years old. It’s easier when you know the kids a little bit more – like my eldest nephew (now aged 7 yrs) used to love reading Tintin. Uhuh Tintin! He doesn’t read it by himself though he can identify some of the words but he liked us reading our collection of Tintin. I think he’s gone through all of them too cos when we looked at the back page where it showed the whole collection, he pointed out the one or two that we didn’t have.

I then remembered an all time classic – Roald Dahl! My favourites are Matilda and The BFG. I love Roald Dahl’s writing – it’s funny and magical and it makes me want to be there too puffing dreams (or is it sucking dreams out?) with The BFG on his night tour around town.

At the moment, Zayan has his moments with his books. There will be times when he’ll sit and read a book with me – usually lasts less than 5 minutes. Other times, he will grab the book and either turn the page so fast that he almost rips it or puts it into his mouth. Oh Zayan! The only only books he will sit down for are animal books – where I make animal noises – and this one book with baby faces in it. He smiles and kisses them – pretty adorable actually.

Anyway, I am on a mission to infiltrate kids lives with books. Instead of buying toys for my nieces and nephews, I am buying them books now. After all, toys come and go – but the stories in books? They can carry on in you for a long, long time.

Love, me

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Escapism by books

  1. S

    Fiz, try making a personalised book… my sister made them for her kids… cali lah jua. I don’t know where she made them but WHsmith ada…

    http://www.whsmith.co.uk/GiftsGamesAndToys/personalised-childrens-books.aspx

Leave a Reply

