Best sweet-spicy grilled chicken ever

I love Jamie Oliver’s 30 minute meals! Encouraging fresh ingredients and the house chef to cook from scratch, showing us that it is possible to make good healthy (or healthier) food in short space of time.

With my general laziness and now having a baby, I am all for saving time in the kitchen and making speedy meals.

One way to do this is to grill stuff: chicken, salmon, prawns. I like to grill lamb but it takes forever to get it to the tender stage.

Normally I grill my chicken with the same stuff: soy sauce, oyster sauce, garlic, onions and some chilli powder (or sos chilli maggi if I’m that lazy).

Browsing through the net yesterday, I wanted to find a different grilled chicken recipe. And I have found the best, finger licking, crispy skin grilled chicken recipe! BBQ Thai chicken wings

20120501-115602.jpg

Ingredients:
600 g chicken wings
Marinade ingredients:
1/2 cup honey
3 tbsp vinegar
3 tbsp garlic
4 tbsp fish sauce
1/2 to 1 tsp cayenne pepper
1/2 tsp 5 spice powder
1 tbsp soy sauce
1 tbsp grated lemon zest or 3 kaffir lime leaves

Ok I edited this as I’m like that :p

I used lemon juice (from actual lemons, as opposed to bottle) because I couldnt be bothered to grate – plus grating means more for me to wash.

I didnt use soy sauce but put an extra tbsp of fish sauce.

Turns out we didnt have much honey AND I dropped a big gollop of honey when I was spooning it out of the jar #clumsymuch #letsblamebaby. So I estimated I only put in 1/4 cup of honey and added another 1/4 cup of brown sugar. Cos apparently brown sugar and honey has the same sweetness.

As for the cayenne pepper, put in according to how spicy you want it to be. Initially I spooned 1/2 tsp but it didnt have the spicy zing that we like, so I added another 1/2 tsp.

How to make it:

Easy!

Turn on your grill so its nice and hot and ready to sizzzzzleeee.

Combine all the marinade ingredients together and then mix it in with the chix wings.

Leave for 10 mins but the longer, the better!

I usually act like a semi-crazed butcher and slice the chicken a lil bit (small slices here and there), partly so that the marinade will soak through into the chicken and partly to get the insides cook faster.

Then just put it in the grill for 20 minutes each side, turning after 20 minutes.

Now M had the bright idea to sprinkle the brown sugar and cayenne pepper on to the chicken wings as a final finish before grilling. The result: crispier, spicy and sweet chicken wings!

To top it off, I served it with plain rice and tomato salad. The tomato salad (consists of tomatoes, chopped coriander, lil bit of garlic and olive oil) actually complements the chicken quite well. Success!!

And that is why, ladies and gents, why you should marry a man who can cook. (Actually the reason to marry a cook is so they can put edible stuff on to the table when you’re tired/busy/come home late from work)

Seriously he’s a better cook than I am! I like to try variety of food, he likes to cook mainly asian food (and paella). But no doubt, he produces more mouth watering food than me.

Maybe if I dont edit recipes or experiment so much huh?

Which reminds me I love watching junior masterchef! Makes me feel I can cook and bake that well too if the kiddies can.

I like to bring my nephews and nieces to the kitchen and bake together. So far I’ve handled 3 kids below 6 years old and can just about contain them. Iman (the eldest boy) likes to do the fun things like cracking eggs and mixing. Kesian his adik 3 yr old Ayesha aka Chantek, who has to do the more boring ones like arranging cupcake cases on the tray (she likes it though and is quite neat and particular in her arrangement ? Future monica). And Umar? I have to make sure this 2 yr old
stay still enough not to drop anything to the floor!

Eeee, I cant wait to bring Zayan to the kitchen and we can do food experiments together! InsyaAllah.

Hmm, perhaps my next project with the kids would be making pizza! Nyum nyum!

Lotsa love
me

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

