Read!

I can’t blog anymore. Baby is wanting my attention all the time. Inda may lapas & doesn’t want anyone else aside from me.

I wanted to write about reading.

Anyway since I can’t write much, I’ll just list books i’ve just read:

The Psychopath Test by Jon Ronson
‘People who are psychopathic prey ruthlessly on others using charm, deceit, violence or other methods that allow them to get what they want. The symptoms of psychopathy include: lack of a conscience or sense of guilt, lack of empathy, egocentricity, pathological lying, repeated violations of social norms, disregard for the law, shallow emotions, and a history of victimizing others.’
– Robert Hare, Ph.D

Very interesting read. And I couldn’t stop reading it despite bebe seeking attention and continually being sleep deprived. I.couldn’t.put.it.down. Basically it’s about how psychopaths are being identified and described in the medical/legal/prison world. It’s bit scary thinking how there are psychopaths and sociopaths just milling around in the streets.

*random* He is also author of The Man Who Stare At Goats, which title makes me just want to read it.

A town like Alice (Thanks kat for the recommendation!!) by Nevel Shute
Without being a spoiler, it’s a fictional book (well kinda, it’s based on true story but modified) about a group of women during the world war when the Japs invaded Malaya. How they survived and had to travel miles and miles to survive and no one (not even the Japanese) wanted to take responsibility for their well-being. And then the follow up after the war. Let’s just say, a lil bit of romance always makes a good book. Big thumbs up for the historians and romantics out there!

French Children Don’t Throw Food by Pamerla Druckerman
I’ve talked about this great deal – see previous post. Must read for all new (or not so new) parents out there. Even if you don’t agree with it, it gives a new dimension/alternative thinking to parenting.

…and currently, have The Hunger Games to read. I’m procrastinating reading it, for some reason. Balum ada mood. hehe. I also have just bought a second hand book from Amazon called ‘Bird by Bird’ by Anne Lammot, about tips on writing and life in general. She seems like a funny writer, so thought I’d just have a read.

Ohhh and my father in law has written on my wall this:
“…since you are talking about books, I couldn’t resist advising everyone who is able, to read the book called, “Islam Through Western Eyes” by Jonathan Lyons. It will save you reading many other books of similar type and so thoroughly relevant and up-to-date – your every minute you spend reading it will help you be who you are in your country, time and culture (insha’Allah).”

I wanna read that too now! (chop, booking his book!)

Oh, oh, also — books for children: Excited to read this to Zayan one day insyaAllah.

Titled ‘Right Where You Are Now’, written by Lisa Montierth and illustrated by Ashley Burke. Excerpt from the book:

Right where you are now, night is here. The yellow moon shines down on a quiet house. Soon, everyone will be sleeping. But once…
There were no houses. There was only a salty sea. Fish lizards called ichthyosaurs and carnivorous plesiosaurs swam through coral reefs. Warm rains fell into the shallow waters. The world looked very different, right where you are now.

Or maybe I just like the colours of the book hehe.

Right Where You Are Now from Craigmore Creations on Vimeo.

So people any books you’re reading and recommending?

Love, Me

PS. Have you participated in this reading survey? Recommend people to enter and participate as it will shapen (insyaAllah) the –future?– library facilities and whatever that will encourage more people to read. Click here people —> www.readingculture.gov.bn

PPS. I know I said I couldn’t write much. This post took me a whole day to write….banyak pauses in between paragraphs!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Read!

  1. nisafidz

    Fiz!!! I love it when you blog about books you’ve read! I’m always on a lookout for good books to read. I think I will start with The Psychopath Test! Thanks Fiz! 😀

Leave a Reply

