The wealth-poverty gap

Is it me or do lives of other children make you empathize more ever since becoming a Momma?

Whenever I hear/read/watch lil children living less than ideal lives, lives that I wish my baby boy will never have to go through, I feel a lump in my throat and tugs my heart even more than before. Maybe it’s the thought of – kesian, hope Zayan will never have to feel that misery and poverty….. And also, I think of those mommas out there, fighting for their children’s lives, praying that one day it will get better.

I guess in retrospect, what I’m going through (sleep deprived, zombie etc) are nothing compared to what people out there are going through.

Now what has evoked all these thoughts and emotions? Seeing the pictures from Big Boston. Slum Life

And it’s not like these people are remotely far away, like in Africa. But it’s happening in Cambodia, Phillipines…our fellow Asian countries.

My recent fb status:

“The world is very different now. For man holds in his mortal hands the power to abolish all forms of human poverty and all forms of human life.” John F Kennedy was right. We COULD possibly abolish human poverty (or at least diminish the gap) but are we distributing the wealth?

Don’t just read this. Find that 2 minutes in your life and click on a charity website (I normally go to Islamic relief UK…but there’s others like Oxfam, Save the children). We are in a world of globalisation. It is not an excuse anymore to turn a blind eye. Even 5 pounds/dollars you can part with – think: one coffee & cake you don’t need to have. InsyaAllah, what we give will be rewarded either in this world or the next 🙂

Lotsa love,

Me

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

