New read: Nothing to Envy

I picked up this book in Waterstones called “Nothing to Envy” regarding real lives in North Korea. Now I don’t know much about North Korea (who really does?) but have heard a presentation about it once, so I’ve been intrigued ever since.

The book has kept me captivated for the last few days. Part of the reason why I haven’t blogged. Other than eat, pray, sleep, work, I’ve been reading on this book! If only I don’t need to sleep that much! Hehe.

Anyway the regime just astounds me… the absurd rules and regulations, but even astounding is how they managed to brainwash the people! These people have been born, brought up and lived thinking that their leader is great, almost God-like, and that they are of superior standing compared to the rest of the world, all thanks to the communism. If they’ve been cut off from the rest of the world, how can they know better?

It’s written in an anecdotal, story-like way, so it’s not all (boring) history. It does tell you some background history of Korea, China and Japan. Which made me realise how much I really don’t know of their history!!

Definite recommendation for a good read!

Love, Fiz

ps. On a flip side, even though Bruneians are not cut off, doesn’t it feel like we’re so sheltered that we don’t realise fully how well taken care of we are and how much more difficult it is from lots of other parts of the world?

20110629-073551.jpg

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

