Rotavirus in the house

Well, I think I’ve got rotavirus.

Started feeling unwell yesterday – fever coming back, tummy pain. Couldn’t sleep all last night because of tummy pain. And I was drained off energy to get up and get some paracetamol. So I was awake every 2 hours with tummy pain and feeling quite hot. I woke up early in the morning feeling something wet on the bed *wait for it, wait for it* and with mortification, realise I have to clean the bed. (Baik jua M nada – on night shift- or else very very embarassing) Ten minutes later, just as M came through the door and the bed sheet has been stripped off, contents of last night’s meal (sup ayam & nasi) got ejected out of my mouth.

All in all, I’ve been to the toilet today for…. 20 times? I’m not even exaggerating now. My poo is basically brown water, its disgusting I know but a problem shared is half a problem kan? Each time I drink or eat something, however little, it goes out of my body within half an hour. Heck, I sound like my patients! Think it might be something I’ve caught from them – in the last 2 working days, I’ve clerked in at least 15 kids with diarrhoea and vomiting (and a lot of them confirmed having rotavirus). Now I know how they feel 😦

I’ve eaten bits of things today: crisps, 1 cupcake, a bowl of cereal (which i didnt manage to finish cos i kept having to go to the loo), lil bit of sup ayam (M has perfected this me thinks) and now trying to finish 1 slice of pizza. The pizza must be the most carb/protein-rich meal I’ve had today. But in the last hour of trying to finish the slice, I’ve gone to the loo for 3 times now. Sooooo hungry yet scared of eating more!

I want my mummy 😦

And I want M too who is still on wretched nights 😦

*plays sad, self-pity song*

Then remembers…..

“And We will surely test you with something of fear and hunger and a loss of wealth and lives and fruits, but give good tidings to the patient,” Al Baqarah: 155.

“Do the people think that they will be left to say, “We believe” and they will not be tried?” Al Ankabut:2.

*clicks fingers*

This too shall pass. And at least I’ve got food, and have a roof above me, with nice duvets around me, and live in a stable country, comes from a peaceful country and my family is safe.

*reads news updates on Libya protests*

My previous consultant is from Libya and I bumped into one of the nurses that works with him, and I asked how he is. His close family is in Libya and understandably he’s feeling sad and distressed with this. I have the utmost respect for him and also felt teeny weeny bit scared when working with him – constant “feel like peeing in my pants during ward round” feeling until I developed respect rather than fear for him. I know a few Libyans here who has family back home and so, I pray safety and comfort for all his family and their family back home. May they be protected always, Amin.

Nature call 😦

Love, me

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

