Your favourite surah

From the Daily Reminders (only my favourite fb group):

“If you want to talk to Allah, then pray. However, if you want Allah to talk to you, then read the Quran.”

I am ashamed to admit that I haven’t open my Quran for awhile now. No excuses for it. But I do wanna talk about favourite surahs. I’m sure everyone has their favourite verse or surah, and I’ve asked this to my friends once. The answers was pleasant to hear. Pleasant because it was nice to hear how that verse or ayat touched them, helped them, reminded them.

As for me, there are different surahs that I turn to depending on how I’m feeling at the time, or what circumstances I’m in. But one of my favourites is Surah Al Rahman – “O men and jinns! Which favour of your Lord will you deny?” That feeling of thump in the chest, the straightforward question – Which favour of Our Lord do we deny?

If I’m feeling stressed or anxious, I think of the verse: “Verily with difficulty comes relief”

I came across another post in Daily Reminders the other day, asking people to share a verse that they find extremely motivating, which are great reminders:

Perhaps you hate a thing and it is good for you; and perhaps you love a thing and it is bad for you. And Allah Knows, while you know not.“(Surah Al Baqarah, 2:216)

“And your Lord has decreed that you not worship except Him, and to parents, good treatment. Whether one or both of them reach old age [while] with you, say not to them [so much as], “uff,” and do not repel them but speak to them a noble word. And lower to them the wing of humility out of mercy and say, “My Lord, have mercy upon them as they brought me up [when I was] small.” (Surah Al Isra, 17:23-24)

“And seek help in patience and As-Salat (the prayer) and truly it is extremely heavy and hard except for Al-Khashi’un [i.e. the true believers in Allah]” (Surah Al Baqarah, 2:45)

“Be sure we shall test you with something of fear and hunger, some loss in goods or lives or the fruits (of your toil), but give glad tidings to those who patiently persevere.” (Surah Al Baqarah, 2:155)

”Verily In The Remembrance Of Allah Do Hearts Find Rest!”(Surah Ar-ra’d,13:28)

What’s your favourite verse?

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

