Tiramisu cupcake

Dedicated this morning to making tiramisu cupcake – I knowww I wanted to do it yesterday but I got too tired after cooking.

First heat butter, milk and vanilla ...

 

Then mix flour & baking powder with eggs, egg yolks and sugar. Love what an electric mixer can do! See how thick all the stuff becomes?

 

Make a mess in the kitchen in the process

 

 

Once you mix everything, put in the oven. Once baked, put a dollop of mascarpone cream on top and sprinkle some cocoa

Voila! Tiramisu cupcake!

Oh I forgot to add, I’ve dipped strong coffee into the cupcake before laying on the cream. The result? I’m all creamed out – too much licking of the cream along the way! (Also tasted a cupcake or two – for damage limitation!)

I used the recipe from Martha Stewart’s website> – isn’t all her stuff cute and pretty? – and figured I could rely on her to give me a good recipe. A few pressure points though (eseh! cakap macam in Junior Masterchef! :P):

1. The recipe doesn’t give the exact measurements – 1 1/4 cups of flour?? What cup should I use? I’ve got variety of different size of cups on my shelf…. * garu kepala*

2. The oven temperature is said to be 325 degrees. Err, I’ve never used anything above 180 degree. So I brought it up to 240 degree (too scared to notch it up higher). I’m supposed to leave it for 20 minutes but by 15 minutes, it was getting brown – and not golden nice brown but will-burn-if-I-leave-longer burn.

3. And the most important, do not overbeat the heavy cream or else the frosting will be grainy. It even says so in the recipe! But of course, I mixed the cream a bit too long.

4. I’m supposed to use marsala wine as part of the coffee syrup. But firstly, what’s marsala wine? And of course I wont put any alcohol in but…. will marsala powder do? (Bimbo qs kah tu?) Well, anyway I opted out of any form of marsala. It tasted good anyway!

The verdict? Mascarpone cheese is just delightful – it’s soft and light, I don’t know why I’ve never used it before! The recipe has a lot of different elements to it – having different mixtures before putting it together and having to heat some stuff first. Usually I aim for simpler recipes – I love recipes from Hummingbird cake book because you just add up all the ingredients and then put it in the oven.

The only problem now is – who shall I share the cupcakes (26 of them!) with aside from M?

Love, me

ps. Uhhhhh to clean the kitchen and do the washing up now 😦 The only thing I don’t like about baking/cooking!

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Tiramisu cupcake

  1. S

    haha…Fiz… bukan 325 degrees Fahrenheit kah? cos thats around 160 degrees celsius :p cupsssssss wah fiz…standard cooking cupppp ada juaaaa :p yg slalunya mcm ada handle and its clear and on the side ada labels 1 cup 1 1/2 cups and also it shows u brapa ml and everything. hehehe your cupcakes look good… taisliur ku! hmpf.

    a measuring cup!! ya thats what its called.

    • Ohh lol, that does make more sense syaz! Haha!! *bimbo* BUT 200 deg did make it bake faster! 😛
      And and your description of measuring cups inda membantu langsung! hehe. but between yours and the other descritption (si anonymous), then i guess i know what u guys mean. actually i dont but ill look out for it. thankss syaz! awuu nyamannn 😛

  2. anonymous

    normally i just stalk your website, but i had to comment on this one! re: cups – it’s the american measuring system, you can buy a set of measuring cups (they normally come as a set of 4: 1 cup, 1/2 cup and so on) at any grocery store methinks.

    re: alcohol substitutes, i usually use this website http://homecooking.about.com/library/archive/blalcohol6.htm
    pretty useful for other recipes that call for alcohol. been trying to look for an alcohol substitute so i can flambe things, but doesn’t look like anything but alcohol will do for that!

    haha i reckon u can see my email address, so im gonna leave my name as anonymous, cause thats how i roll

    hope ure well! xxoo

    • Dear anonymous (but i know who u are really), hehe ok as said to syaz, i know what u guys mean now! i dont think ive ever seen it before but then again ive never looked out for measuring cups in grocery stores! Re alcohol substitues, coolies! Thanks muchas. Awu been trying to find substitute for this awesome tequila-lime pasta sauce but obviously cant use tequila. from the pictures, mcm siuk saja it gets flammable. lol. but it tasted yummy anyway without the alcohol. (will post about it one day) take care kat!

    • oops i just de-anonymised you! :s

Leave a Reply

