Happy 27th, Brunei!

I know, I know, it’s belated. I have a good excuse though. Post holiday AND working AND contracting The Fiz-flu (worse than the man flu!).

So, so, happy 27th National day, Brunei! As I have limited time, I have set myself a challenge, just like the Brunei Speakers Club weekly ‘2 minute talk’ routine, I’ll talk (write) for TWO minutes only and hopefully not ramble on something useless for the first 1 min and 50 seconds.

Topic: My country

On your mark, get set, go!

It’s been 27 years since Independence day (to be exact, it’s 2 years and 23 days….does anyone know why National Day is on 23rd but we marked our independence on 1st of Jan 1984?). Sometimes you (I mean, me, me) feel annoyed because there’s a long queue in yet another government office or being in the hospital seems to be just endless array of waiting or the fact that the internet connections is more like e-slow, than e-speed. Whatever the endless lists of things to be annoyed with, think this….we have been independent for 27 years. 27 years. That’s not a long time.

I’m not making excuses, and we should strive for being better. And I believe we are. I met with a few bruneian drs, most of which are right there in developing the country’s healthcare and training local doctors, and they’re working hard. And so I believe, that’s where a lot of bruneians are. Striving to be better and making things better at home. There’s a long way to go. But at least we’re trying.

Hey wait, it’s 2 minutes already.

Finito!

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

